This is the dead land
2002-10-29 || 8:05 a.m.


So there I was on Sunday evening making nut roast. I was chopping an onion when I forgot to move my thumb. I damn near sliced the top of it off. You know when you just keep going but you can feel the knife is not going through veg but nail and skin and tendons. Yuck. There was blood everywhere. I ran over to the sink and called for Rebecca. She eventually sauntered in and wrapped it in a towel for me. I have never seen so much blood. It was all over my hand and all over the towel. Blood is really sticky. It stuck my fingers together. Bex got me a bowl of soapy water and after a while I felt brave enough to have a look and see what I had done. I washed the blood away and sent Bex on a bandage hunt. She found some fabric plasters and stuck it back together again. As I was looking at it, it struck me how it looked like the advert for Kerrang Music channel with the guy with the paper bag over his head, so I said to Rebecca, 'hey, look, it looks like the kerrang man, draw some eyes on it for me'. (Yeah, I know, at my age). I leant forward holding my thumb out and she had a biro and then all the other plasters in the house fell from my lap into the soapy water and we had to dry them on the radiator.

And the kerrang man idea was abandoned.

The plasters dried fine and yesterday I changed the dressing. The cut is quite spectacular. Sort of a diagonal through my thumb from left to right.

Yesterday was a sort of day of purgatory. We had to go for lunch at my parents and my grandmother was there. It was her and my sister's birthday. My grandmother was 88. My mother's family is incredibly stuck up and it is desperate when we have to attend such things. My gran was going on about my cousin Timothy and his first Consultant's post. Tim is actually quite a nice guy but you could very definitely become sick of him quite easily if you listened to my gran. She totally ignored me and Bex which suited us just fine. We had only been there 5 minutes when I got a text message. It was from Bex! It said, 'this sucks'.

Dylan went to be trimmed yesterday. He came back looking like Cerberus. Me and Rebecca couldn't get over it. Under all that Dougal fur was a very small, lithe dog with rather long legs. He looks like a sinister greyhound.

Today, I am taking Bex to Camden Market. She needs clothes.

Tomorrow we are going to Cambridge. There is a well good music shop there.

I wish this was more inspiring stuff but last night I slept the sleep of the dead, or the drugged.

-
latest
���archive
email
����notes
profile
��surveys
����host


layout by tyrannosaurus bex.������������(espers)