Spirit of the Games ...?
2002-02-23 || 10:45 a.m.


Sorry I haven't written in here all week. Its been a bastard of a week. I've had a really bad migraine and hassles that I can't go into here. Anyway I read an excellent letter in the Radio Times and thought I'd put it in here:

'I was left breathless by the opening ceremony of the Winter Olympics (Olympic grandstand, 8th February, BBC1). Breathless at the blatant hypocrisy, the unblushing jinoism and the mawkish sentimentality displayed. The use of the five Utah tribes was an outrage when you consider the way in which they were systematically cheated of their lands and finally exterminated in their thousands by the white settlers.

In spite of the $300 million spent on security, a major hijack still took place that night. The perpetrators were the Salt Lake Olympic committee and their victims were the ideals of the Olympic movement.'

Sian Kinrade

London SE23

I just wish I'd written this letter.

I don't like sport at all but this olympics has made me laugh. First of all you've got the referees - totally impartial (not), then every time the girl skiers take their helmets off they are really glam, and then you have the ridiculous sports. Take for example the curling. Now being ignorant I thought this sounded exciting. I thought it was like Irish hurling but on ice. But what is it in reality? Its like surface friction in the kitchen when you wash up and put a glass on the side and watch it slide about - only less entertaining.

Well, it will all be over soon but you've got to admire the speeds at which the skiers go down the hills - absolutely mental. I can't see the point myself unless the hut at the top is on fire. Just ignore me I'm only jealous. I've never been on skis (nor ever will) and the only time I've been on skates I fell over and then saw someone else get a finger sliced off, took my skates off and sat and watched. (the other skaters, not the finger).

Well that's enough boring pointless shit for now.

-
latest
���archive
email
����notes
profile
��surveys
����host


layout by tyrannosaurus bex.������������(espers)